Navigations

Hello There, Guest! Login Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Suggestions welcome- about to cut the cord!
Hi all-

Suburban Philadelphia area (S Jersey) getting ready to cut cable ties with Verizon after many years. We have 3 TVs, 2 DVR and 3 set top boxes. 
We are already subscribed to Netflix and are Amazon Prime members, so we also have access to Amazon Prime video. A little nervous as messing with my cable and hook ups is not my favorite thing to do and if I screw it up, I hope I can figure out how to un-do my mistakes.. 

My first step is to by an antenna and see how (and if) it works for my local channels on each of the TV sets (none are "smart" TVs, 2 are HDTV)

I'm not an expert on cable/tv/wiring issues- I have located a splitter that Verizon put in to run the 3 cable lines- it's in my garage
I know that splitting the antenna will weaken the signal, so I'm planning to buy an antenna with an amplifier.

Q1-  If I try to hook up the antenna in my garage using the splitter, how exactly does the antenna get "attached" to the TV sets..? Can I simply leave the cable line in the TV...? or would I have to make a change in cables or attachments in each set? If it's a hassle, I will just buy three antennas and that will be that...

I'm interested in hearing some updated opinions on streaming services. I have read up on changes and new to the market services back in late July/August, but it seems that the services are constantly changing and adding content. 

I'm reviewing all the services, Hulu, Sling, DirectTV, etc etc.... I am very interested in the YouTube TV, that seems to have a lot of what I'm looking for and still adding content. Our family watches a lot of DVR or saved TV show episodes, and I watch a lot of sports (only rational choice when Dance Moms and Cupcake Wars are constantly on...)

Q2- How has the YouTube TV experience been? How about FuboTV for sports? We don't need HBO (but will take it if included) or SHO, Epix etc...